Print Page | Sign In
Dermatologic Surgery in the Outback
Share |

Dr. Anthony Dixon, an Australian surgeon who specializes in skin cancer surgery, has been gracious enough to extend an invitation to the physicians and residents of the AOCD for a preceptorship "down under.” The proposed preceptorship would be limited to two physicians each year. One resident and one attending physician (AOBD board eligible or board certified) would be selected for the preceptorship.

The attending physician's selection would be based on the silent auction principal. The starting bid would be $1,000 and the preceptorship would be awarded to the highest bidder. The funds raised would be used to provide financial support for the winning resident attendee.

The resident selection would be based on a surgical paper competition. All residents wishing to have the chance to go can prepare a surgical paper. This paper would be judged on the basis of its surgical application in dermatologic surgery, with an emphasis on cutaneous cancer. The paper should be based on principles of surgical treatments for skin cancer with emphasis on literature review and/or new techniques, with original research strongly encouraged. The AOCD Awards Committee along with Dr. Dixon will select the winning author.

Submissions should be sent to the AOCD office in Kirksville. The "winner” would receive approximately $1,500 towards the cost of the trip to Australia, with additional funding to be determined on proceeds generated by the silent auction. This would not cover the cost of the entire trip but would pay a substantial portion of it. The approximate airfare is $1,200. Attending physicians would be responsible for their own expenses.

Winners can essentially schedule their preceptorship for any time of year, pending no conflicts with Dr. Dixon's schedule. It is not required that the attending physician and resident travel at the same time to Australia. Dr. Dixon does lecture at numerous conferences, and if this is the case during a preceptor's visit, he has graciously agreed to cover any fees that may be associated with attending these conferences in Australia.

Previous Winners

2008  Ben Adams, D.O.
2008  Daniel Marshall, D.O. 
2009  Jason Mazzurco, D.O.
2010  Albert Rivera, D.O.
2011  Jonathan Cleaver, D.O.
2012  James Young, D.O.
2013  D. Ryan Skinner, D.O.
2014  Travis Hamblin, D.O.

2902 North Baltimore Street | P.O. Box 7525 | Kirksville, Missouri 63501

660-665-2184 | 1-800-449-2623 | 660-627-2623