Print Page | Sign In
AOCD Residency Leadership Award
Share |

The James Bernard, D.O., FAOCD, AOCD Residency Leadership Award is a leadership grant sponsored by the American Osteopathic College of Dermatology (AOCD). The award is intended to encourage and enable the recipient to organize and foster the ideals of the AOCD. The award offers a third year osteopathic resident physician  a future position in one of the AOCD committees.

Eligible committee options:

  • CME Committee
  • In-Training Examination Committee
  • Editorial/Public Relations Committee.


Applications will be entertained from AOCD program directors to nominate 3rd year osteopathic dermatology residents.

Nomination Criteria

  • Integrity: Maintains the highest personal standards of honesty, fairness, consistency, and trust.
  • Respect: Displays a professional persona and is open-minded and courteous to others.
  • Empowerment: Provides knowledge, skills, authority and encouragement to fellow physicians and staff.
  • Initiative: Takes prompt action to avoid or resolve problems and conflict.

Nominees must be a Member in good standing of the AOCD.

Deadline For Submission

Applications will be accepted beginning March 1 and must be received by July 1 to be eligible for consideration of award.

Download Form


Applications will be reviewed by the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee will forward its recommendations to the AOCD National Office. The AOCD National Office notifies the applicants of the Committee's action by certified letter. The grant will begin during the Annual Meeting of that year and end at the Annual Meeting of the subsequent year. All correspondence concerning the program and/or awarded grants should be directed to the AOCD Committee on Awards.

Previous Winners

Susun Bellew, D.O. Gwyn Frambach, D.O.
Peter Morrell, D.O. Albert Rivera, D.O.
Angela Bookout, D.O. Jonathan Cleaver, D.O.
David Kasper, D.O. Michelle Legacy, D.O.
Peter Saitta, D.O. John Stoner, D.O.
Alyn Hatter, D.O.
Ellecia Cook, D.O.   
Katherine Johnson, D.O.  
Jennifer DePry, D.O.  
Sarah Croft, D.O.  
Lacey Elwyn, D.O.  

2902 North Baltimore Street | P.O. Box 7525 | Kirksville, Missouri 63501

660-665-2184 | 1-800-449-2623 | 660-627-2623

General Terms of Use Policy
The AOCD web site and AOCD apps contain copyrighted material and other proprietary information, which may include, but is not limited to: text, software, photos, video, graphics and audio. It is not permitted to modify, publish, transmit, participate in the transfer or sale, create derivative works, or in any way exploit any of the content, in whole or in part.

The AOCD limits permission for downloading education material for personal use only.