Print Page | Sign In
Share |

The American Osteopathic College of Dermatology held its first meeting in 1957. It was an organizational meeting that elected Dr. A.P. Ulbrich, President and Dr. Sidney Rothman, Secretary-Treasurer. The College was formulated primarily to get "new blood" into an old American Osteopathic Board of Dermatology that had certified only three dermatologists in eight years.

The old board consisted of five members that resigned en mass in 1957, when they realized the newly formed College could nominate and elect new members to serve on the board. After the old Board resigned, the American Osteopathic Association asked Dr. A.P. Ulbrich to form a new American Osteopathic Board of Dermatology, which he did in 1957-1958. The Board consisted of three dermatologists; Anthony Scardino, Sr., D.O. from Kansas City, President; Donald Gardner, D.O. from California, Vice President; and A.P. Ulbrich, D.O. from Detroit, Secretary-Treasurer.

The new Board gave their first examination in the fall of 1958, in Washington, D.C. Eight applicants took the examination, and all passed. These eight dermatologists increased the certified members to a grand total of twenty-one. Standards and guidelines for training and eligibility to sit for the certifying exam were set by the new board and continue to be revised and updated.

To date, over 600 physicians have been certified by the American Osteopathic Board of Dermatology, with our membership presently consisting of 665 physician members, 163 dermatology residents, and 125 student members. Residents are trained in fully approved and accredited training universities and teaching hospitals throughout the United States.

In honor of Dr. Ulbrich, the "Albert P.Ulbrich, D.O. Lifetime Achievement Award" was established in 1989. This is the AOCD's highest professional honor bestowed upon one of their members for a lifetime dedication to the College and to the field of Osteopathic Dermatology. This award is not granted on a regular basis; rather it is bestowed when a dermatologist who has dedicated his or her professional life to the College has either semi-retired or retired from practicing dermatology. The honorable recipients of this award include Harry B. Elmets, D.O. in 1990, Daniel Koprince, D.O. in 1992, Thos. H. Bonino, D.O. in 1994, James D. Bernard, D.O. in 1996, David Brooks Walker, D.O. in 2002, and David C. Horowitz, D.O. in 2003. In honor of Dr. Koprince, The "Daniel Koprince, D.O. Educational Award" was established in 1987 to recognize three residents for excellence in academic presentations made during the annual and midyear meetings, which is judged by the Awards Committee using established criteria.

The American Osteopathic College of Dermatology has grown tremendously over the last five decades to become a strong and influential specialty college. Our presence is well established in academic and clinical settings throughout the United States, as well as in the many political arenas. American Osteopathic College of Dermatology is an affiliate of the American Osteopathic Association, and is dedicated to promoting the practice of osteopathic dermatology on a national level.

Past Officer Line-up 

Past Presidents

Albert P. Ulbrich, D.O. 1957 C. H. Chemberlen, D.O. 1958
Llewelyn Holden, D.O. 1959 Edgar H. Gabriel, D.O. 1960
Edgar H. Gabriel, D.O. 1961 Paul Courtney, D.O. 1962
Harry B. Elmets, D.O. 1963 Robert G. Shimmel, D.O. 1964
Anthony Scardino, Sr., D.O. 1965 Israel Feldman, D.O. 1966
Thomas H. Bonino, D.O. 1967 Albert P. Ulbrich, D.O. 1968
Edward Schweig, D.O. 1969 Earl L. Parker, D.O. 1970
Harry B. Elmets, D.O. 1971 Daniel Koprince, D.O. 1972
Don U. Collier, D.O. 1973 David B. Walker, D.O. 1974
Roger J. Graumann, D.O. 1975 Neil P. Superfon, D.O. 1976
Earl U. Bachenberg, D.O. 1977 James D. Bernard, D.O. 1978
Alex S. Macaione, D.O. 1979 David C. Horowitz, D.O. 1980
Edwin H. Cohen, D.O. 1981 Roger C. Byrd, D.O. 1982
Charles G. Hughes, D.O. 1983 William F. Heckert, D.O. 1986
Dudley W. Goetz, D.O. 1984 Joel J. Harris, D.O. 1985
Robert D. Verona, D.O. 1987 Steven C. Roberts, D.O. 1988
Lloyd J. Cleaver, D.O. 1989 Eugene T. Conte, D.O. 1990
Michael J. Mahon, D.O. 1991 Shelly A. Friedman, D.O. 1992
Michael J. Scott, D.O. 1993 James Q. Del Rosso, D.O. 1994
Gene E. Graff, D.O. 1995 Matt L. Leavitt, D.O. 1996
Edward H. Yob, D.O. 1997 Lynn M. Sikorski, D.O. 1998
Craig L. Ziering, D.O. 1999 Gregory G. Papadeas, D.O. 2000
James W. Young, D.O. 2001 Cindy F. Hoffman, D.O. 2002
Robert F. Schwarze, D.O. 2003 Stanley E. Skopit, D.O. 2004
Ronald C. Miller, D.O. 2005 Richard A. Miller, D.O. 2006
Bill V. Way, D.O. 2007 Jay S. Gottlieb, D.O. 2008
Donald Tillman, Jr., D.O. 2009 Marc I. Epstein, D.O. 2010
Leslie Kramer, D.O. 2011 Bradley Glick, D.O. 2012
David Grice, D.O. 2013 Suzanne Rozenberg, D.O. 2014
Rick Lin, D.O. 2015 Alpesh Desai, D.O. 2016-2017
Karthik Krishnamurthy, D.O. 2017-2018 Daniel Ladd, D.O. 2018-2019
John Minni, D.O. 2019-2020 


Past Secretary-Treasurers

Sidney Rothman, D.O. 1959-1962 Daniel Koprince, D.O. 1963-1969
Robert G. Shimmel, D.O. 1970-1975 Edward Schweig, D.O. 1976-1979
James D. Bernard, D.O. 1980-2004 Jere Mammino, D.O. 2004-2015
Steven Grekin, D.O. 2015-present  

2902 North Baltimore Street | P.O. Box 7525 | Kirksville, Missouri 63501

660-665-2184 | 1-800-449-2623 | 660-627-2623

General Terms of Use Policy
The AOCD web site and AOCD apps contain copyrighted material and other proprietary information, which may include, but is not limited to: text, software, photos, video, graphics and audio. It is not permitted to modify, publish, transmit, participate in the transfer or sale, create derivative works, or in any way exploit any of the content, in whole or in part.

The AOCD limits permission for downloading education material for personal use only.